According to the Insurance Information Institute, aggressive driving plays a role in many accidents that cause serious injuries and fatalities. The agency reports that about 56 percent of fatal road collisions involve behaviors such as excessive speeding, failure to yield, erratic lane changing, prohibited passing and improper turns.
Learn more about aggressive driving laws in Georgia and the steps to take if you experience an injury in this type of crash.
Aggressive driving in Georgia
Georgia considers aggressive driving an aggravated misdemeanor criminal offense. The state defines this action as any driving behavior meant to harass, obstruct, annoy, threaten or harm another driver, such as tailgating, making obscene gestures, cutting off other drivers, or passing on the shoulder. If convicted, a motorist can receive six points on his or her driver’s license, a fine of up to $5,000 and up to a year in jail.
Available personal injury compensation
If you or a loved one has a serious injury after an accident involving aggressive driving by another motorist, you may be able to recoup the cost of your medical expenses, lost wages, and even pain and suffering.
Georgia is a fault state for auto accidents. That means when another driver causes a crash, you can either file a lawsuit, submit a claim to your own insurance provider, or submit a claim to the responsible driver’s insurance policy.
Georgia has a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury cases, including auto accident injuries. Building a case quickly may improve your chances of obtaining legal compensation for your related expenses.